"Wherefore, my beloved brethren, I know that if ye shall follow the Son, with full purpose of heart, acting no hypocrisy and no deception before God, but with real intent, repenting of your sins, witnessing unto the Father that you are willing to take upon you the name of Christ, by baptism--yea, by following your Lord and your Savior down into the water, according to his word, behold, then shall ye receive the Holy Ghost; yea, then cometh the baptism of fire and of the Holy Ghost; and then can ye speak with the tongue of angels, and shout praises unto the Holy One of Israel." 2 Nephi 31:13

Monday, July 1, 2013

Week 35: Rain

Hello!!

After 8 days of raining we finally saw the sun again on Thrusday! but...then it rained again that night and has been raining ever since!

Every week I'm getting tested; and I'm sad when I fail!
Such as this past week: on Sunday (yesterday) we had a list of 11 people who said they would go to church. So we woke up early and started walking to every single house and...like usual most of them were not there. I was getting a bit upset. But after every house, I was still okay because I knew we for sure had the last two people who would for sure go. Gabriel and his little brother Mateus. We talked to them Saturday night at 8 to double check that they were planning on going still. They said they would and we planned to stop by there at 8:50 and get to church at 9 cause they live really close. We went to every single house on the list and nobody was home or they had decided not to go anymore. Wehn we finally got to Gabriel and Mateus' I htought "at the very least we'll have these two!" Their mom came out and said that they didn't want to go anymore and had left for their aunt's hous. One last night and the other that morning...I was super upset!! After all that work and a whole week of talking to people, we had zero people to take to church! Church is really important! If they don't go tot church they can't be baptized and that means we have zero possibilities this next week.

So I got upset and I know I shouldn't get mad cause it  drives away the spirit.
The best pizza he's eaten in Brazil!
And so after all this, we show up at church and 1 of the people we had gone to pick up had already gone to the church!! Her husband and grandson didn't go but she did! (Unfortunately she can't be baptized cause she isn't married) so I was a little bit happier but not much. We didn't get to church until about 10:45 cause we had no reason to be there without investigators. We also got asked about the other couple that was there. We weren't aware of another couple. We had probably four or five people say, "who is the other couple that are investigating today?" so we went to talk to them and it turns out they were wanting to visit the church on another day but it was closed. So they saw the sign that says the meetings are at 9 on Sundays and they came back to make a visit and know what's it's like! We got their address and we scheduled a visit at their house on Tuesday at 4! We're gonna see how they liked it and talk about the restoration and baptism and stuff!! I'm super excited for it!
Not sure what these masks are for...
they are kind of creepy though!
People don't do that here. Nobody just wants to pay a visit and will return a second time on a Sunday, early in the morning, to know about a church here! It's a miracle here in Cambe!
And so...after all this, I wanted to be mad at myself for getting mad but that wouldn't be productive and also wouldn't show that I'm learning anything. So I got a little sad that I had gotten mad and know I'm going to do a lot better in the future. We weren't taking investigators to church but He had already sent two to the church and were already there enjoying it while I was getting mad walking on the street!

I cannot get this picture to go
the other direction! I'm sorry..

And other than that...it rained sooo hard as we were walking home last night. I could wring out my garments when I got home! Soaked to the bone! I have a cool video but it's too big to email and so you'll have to wait a year and half to see it!

Well that's all I have this week! Love you all!!

Tchau
Elder Haws


No comments:

Post a Comment